1. Welcome to Verizon Forums - the unofficial Verizon community! Have a question about Verizon? Click HERE to get started.
  2. Expecting Cell Phone Forums? We recently moved Verizon specific content to VerizonForums.com. If you previously had an account on CPF, it has been transferred!

Can GSM phones work with Verizon's CDMA network?

Discussion in 'General Verizon Service' started by 868279, Feb 26, 2006.

  1. 868279

    868279 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey...I saw a really nice phone off of phonescoop.com and it says it had a GSM band (SAMSUNG E-730)...and i am currrently with verizon wireless, and they use CDMA phones. So i guess my question is will this GSM phone work with verizon's CDMA network? Thanks.



    › See More: Can GSM phones work with Verizon's CDMA network?
  2. BlkBear

    BlkBear Never in the Woods!

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope, GSM phones will not work on a CDMA network, and CDMA phones will not work on a GSM network.

    If I'm lying may I be struck by a bolt from the blue!
    *takes two quick steps to the right just in case*
    jdeg likes this.
  3. 868279

    868279 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    okay...so if i wanted this phone i would have to move to t-mobile or cingular...somthing like that that has a GSM network?
  4. BlkBear

    BlkBear Never in the Woods!

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Correct, to use a GSM enabled phone, you would have to be with a carrier that was GSM.
  5. bradbb2005

    bradbb2005 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there any possible way to enable both on one phone!!?? :evil:
  6. roberts1953

    roberts1953 New Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. 868279

    868279 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ahh...okay...so for a GSM phone, you need GSM service??
  8. roberts1953

    roberts1953 New Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
  9. SuzzyP

    SuzzyP New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea it sucks but 2 totally different types of technology. That's one of the reasons i switched from Verizon to Cingular(and reception issues). loll

Welcome to VerizonForums!

Unfortunately you can't reply until you log in or sign up.


Forgot your password?