1. Welcome to Verizon Forums - the unofficial Verizon community! Have a question about Verizon? Click HERE to get started.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Expecting Cell Phone Forums? We recently moved Verizon specific content to VerizonForums.com. If you previously had an account on CPF, it has been transferred!
    Dismiss Notice

New Verizon customer with slow 3g speed

Discussion in 'General Verizon Service' started by blue lines, Jun 22, 2011.

1. blue lines

blue lines New Member

I recently switched from the iPhone 3gs on ATT to an Incredible 2 on Verizon. This is my first time with Verizon and first time with an Android phone. I love everything about the phone. Verizon's service? Not so much, but I don't know if the issues I'm experiencing are a phone issue or a Verizon issue.

My 3g speed is much, much slower than what I was enjoying with ATT. I'm averaging about 200-300 kbps down. It's dropped as low as 42 and it's not uncommon for it to hover under 100. The only time I ever enjoy more than 600 kbps is when I'm in my house, which has a network extender installed or if I'm connected to wifi.

I went to a Verizon store and the rep told me Verizon's average 3g speed in Detroit is between 300 and 600. From the research I've done online I'm finding people talking about getting over 1 MB down on a consistent basis. I've even read posts of people complaining about how they're only getting 700 kbps.

I have 5 more days left to return this phone and/or switch service. The Verizon rep pretty much blew me off saying the speeds I'm experiencing are normal. I'm hoping someone in here can help me indentify if this is a phone issue or a Verizon issue. Are these speeds normal for Verizon? Does anyone else with an Incredible 2 experiencing similar problems?

Thanks in advance.

› See More: New Verizon customer with slow 3g speed
  2. nicknrm

nicknrm Super Moderator

User Blue Lines,