1. Welcome to Verizon Forums - the unofficial Verizon community! Have a question about Verizon? Click HERE to get started.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Expecting Cell Phone Forums? We recently moved Verizon specific content to VerizonForums.com. If you previously had an account on CPF, it has been transferred!
    Dismiss Notice

Info Text message from mail@verizonwireless.com pointing to cellgiftcards.com

Discussion in 'LG' started by jdeg, Dec 20, 2011.

  1. jdeg

    jdeg Administrator Staff Member

    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    Have you received a text message that looks like it's from Verizon? Don't be fooled!

    If you go directly to cellgiftcards.com it redirects to google. If you click the link it goes to a site called phonecomps.com (run by savvygiftrewards.com) and prompts you to enter your e-mail address to win.

    Nothing on this page indicates an association with Verizon, nor does the text message appear to be sanctioned by Verizon. This message appears to be a trick to gather/sell e-mail addresses and other information that it prompts you to 'enter to win'.

    Remember: Just because it says it's from mail@verizonwireless.com doesn't mean it is. The sender of this message has probably spoofed the headers of the message. It looks like it was mass sent to user's text message e-mail addresses (in Verizon's case number@vtext.com)

    It says right on the landing page
    Further information:
    All domains associated with this message have their whois information hidden by a 3rd party company. This is another indication that the companies involved are not legit and are only going to sell your information to whoever they want, and probably not pay out anything that they promise for that information.
    • cellgiftcards.com resolves to - A trace of that ip goes to a company called PACNET located in Hong Kong. To complain you can send an e-mail to abuse@pacnet.com These are the people that are probably doing the spamming since all they are doing is redirecting to the next domain via something that looks like a referral link.
    • phonecomps.com resolves to, which can be traced to Black Lotus Communications - To complain send an e-mail to abuse@blacklotus.com
    • savvygiftrewards.com resolves to, which can be traced to PSINet, Inc. - To complain send an e-mail to abuse@cogentco.com
    Keep in mind that the e-mails listed above are the e-mails of the companies providing the hosting for these domains. They are not the companies doing the spamming / data collecting.

    What can you do?
    Unfortunately right now there isn't much you can do. Try forwarding the message to the national spam database @ 7726 (spam).
    You can also try complaining to the hosting provider for cellgiftcards.com (e-mail above).

    › See More: Text message from mail@verizonwireless.com pointing to cellgiftcards.com
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2011
    1 person likes this.

Welcome to VerizonForums!

Unfortunately you can't reply until you log in or sign up.

Forgot your password?